Day 28: If

If I had said no more often
Grew up in one place
Never went to boarding school
Took isiXhosa instead

If I had carried on with piano,
Kept playing the guitar
Taken Art as a subject
Went to Wits instead of UCT
Became a Medical Scientist and ignored my artistic side

Never moved to East London
Never left when I was there
Never went back to that gig that night
Never wrote that letter to the Herald Editor

If I was “normal”
Aiming only to survive the system
And not change it.
Had tunnel vision
Cruised through life
Never curious
Never wondering.

If I never read
Spent all that time alone…

Would I still be who I am now?

Leave a Reply

